Help me buy something

21 June, 2008 at 9:48 pm (meta)

Phil held a contest. I won. Now I have 15 dollars to kill in DriveThruRPG. Current wishlist: http://rpg.drivethrustuff.com/wishlist_public.php?public_id=169703, which is a list of things I might spend this virtual money on.

I’m taking further recommendations. Also, if something there sucks, tell it. For something to be interesting it needs to cost at most 15$, in addition to being interesting. New game systems are interesting if they are

  1. Fantasy games that do something in different and interesting ways.
  2. Generic games that are very clever.
  3. Other games that are extremely clever, to the point of being famous for it, which means that I have heard of them (and decided to not use any virtual money on them, as likely as not).

Other stuff should be as system-neutral as possible. The following are interesting:

  • Theory, game mastering and so on.
  • Worldbuilding that is about building a world to be good for gaming, not only realistic/genre-appropriate.
  • Interesting in some other way I can’t name right now. Good luck finding one of these.

In other news

I have two AP reports to write, which will not happen because I am lazy and have other things to do (like playing some Warlords Battlecry 3 for a change and travelling around and occasionally work).

1 Comment

  1. theblunderbuss said,

    Hey, just a quick comment on your post.

    I eyed two things you have up there: one that can be potentially really cool and one that is (from what I’ve read so far). The first is the NPC essentials … I’ve been thinking about getting this book for a long time, and have not done so just because I haven’t been buying stuff at all until recently. It comes with very good reviews and seems to have very good advice. From what I’ve read, it’s not d20 dependent and is packed full with content.

    The second is the Mythic gamemaster emulator. I recently purchased the Mythic bundle which contains, the core book and Variations. Now, the mythic GM emulator is about 50 pages long, and is about $6,50 … the whole book is now $8 something and is 150 pages. ALSO from what I’ve read so far you probably should go with the whole book even if you just want the GM emulator (I think they left out a few things that can be useful, although I’m just drawing that conclusion from the number of pages). The book presents interesting concepts (I’m sure as hell going to use the system in the next game I run) and is modular enough that you can take what you want and leave the rest aside.

    Hope that helps a bit.

Leave a Reply

